Silent Dreams

I had a dream last night.
I dreamed of my grandfather.
He was young and yet old,
looked like his portrait from when he was 30,
but he had kept his 94-year-old soul.
We watched TV together and ate lunch.
He told me about grandma,
who passed away when I was only six,
about when he first knew he loved her
and their early life together.
He gave me advice,
but I couldn’t hear the words.
And in my dream, I wept.
I wept because he is gone,
been gone for four years now.
I wept because we talked,
and because the words he spoke were silent.

grampa

One thought on “Silent Dreams

  1. clarahinton says:

    This holds special meaning to me. I’ve had similar dreams of my grandmother. Beautiful, yet sad. Thanks so much for sharing!

leave a reply

