Take Me Down

Take me down, take me down, take me down to the water’s edge.
Hold my hand and coax me in.
Talk me down from off the ledge.

Lead me into the cool still water,
Darkness around and moon above.
Listen with me to leaves who whisper,
Telling secrets on how to love.
Hold my hand as we tread dark water,
Being cleansed of our daily pains.
Tell me all of your secret plans
And remind me of all
That’s yet to be gained.
Swim with me to the other shore,
To lie on a blanket under the stars.
Run with me in fields of twilight.
Catch me a fairy to keep in a jar.
Rest with me here in the moonlight.
Pack away the fears of today.
Put off for now the care of tomorrow,
Just for one night, content to play.

Take me down, take me down, take me down to the water’s edge.
Hold my hand and coax me in.
Talk me down from off the ledge.

originally written on Friday, July 22, 2011 at 5:04pm

leave a reply

