In the end…

“I was just a boy when I sat down
To watch the news on TV
I saw some ordinary slaughter
I saw some routine atrocity
My father said, don’t look away
You got to be strong, you got to be bold, now
He said, that in the end it is beauty
That is going to save the world, now.”
Nick Cave

I hate watching the news. To give a general idea of how long it’s been since I’ve watched a nightly news program, I just found out today that OJ Simpson is in jail for a Las Vegas robbery which occurred in 2007. Yes, I’m embarrassed, and yes I know I need to know more about what’s going on around me. But I cannot stand Fox News or CNN or the multitude of other mega networks who feature screaming heads adding to the din and confusion of our cultural and political climate. I recently took to reading alternative news blogs but found the message boards even more depressing, filled with pithy little catch phrases like “Faux news, Obamacon, feminazis, mansplain, corpocrats, banksters (ok that one is funny),” and blah, blah, blah, blah, BLAH. Recent events have left me sad and bewildered: the Newton massacre, the Steubenville rape case, the Gosnell trial, the Boston bombing, and just two days ago the fire and explosion in Waco, TX.  And none of it is beyond being politicized.  How can the rape of a minor in Steubenville be politicized? I learned quite easily when I read this exchange on one message board for an article titled The top 5 rape apologist reactions to the Steubenville rape verdict:

garbageamericaiscrumbling • a month ago
Unbelievable how fucked up some people are.
invictus2 -> garbageamericaiscrumbling • a month ago
At least they all flock together under one banner. Conservative hypocrites. The biggest group is in the GOP tent.
Guest -> invictus2 • a month ago
seriously, how is this article being used in the comments as a left vs right argument? rape and rape culture isn’t a partisan issue. it’s a HUMAN issue. attempting to paint the horrible reactions in the article as either “democrat” or “republican” is tacky and gross. clearly we all agree that this was rape, that this was bad, and that blaming the victim for even a second sucks ass. check the ideologies at the door and remember that not everyone who votes differently from you is a monster
invictus2 -> Guest • a month ago
They are what they are. It’s the right, and their christo fanatics that are raining a puritan rage on all things sexual. I don’t see a bill a week to control sexual process freedom or functions coming from democrats. They are all coming from the republicons in the house and republicon contolled state governments. It wasn’t a left leaning media outlet that outed the victim. It was the conservative republicon media arm Fox. It was republicons that made course and objectionable rape comments for most of the last election cycle
Guest -> invictus2 • a month ago
ok, even if your viewpoint is accurate, what in the world does that have to do with THIS case or THIS article?
invictus2 -> Guest • a month ago
It voices and perpetuates the rights disgusting memes as discussion, when they should be shunned by the media. The media should be the story, and that includes MSNBC, CNN, and FOX. We don’t have any NEWS media. I’ve been waiting all day for coverage of Rachels expose last night on Nixons treason
Guest -> invictus2 • a month ago
um…like I said, what does that have to do with a teenage girl getting raped?

Blecccchhhhhh. gross. And sad. But then I remember it’s not only my civic duty to be an informed citizen, it’s because I wholeheartedly agree with Nick Cave. At the risk of sounding like a neo-con religious fanatic (see, message boards are good for teaching me new terms) I also believe what Jesus said is true; and somehow I have hope to turn on the TV again tomorrow…because the end has not yet come.

“You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come.”  Matthew 24:6

2 thoughts on “In the end…

  1. iamforchange says:

    http://iamforchange.wordpress.com/awards-page-and-nominations-thank-you-i-am-so-honored-and-grateful/ So many have shared so much with me and I wish to share as well please accept my nominations and if nothing else know I am grateful for your sharing on your pages with us all and the time you share with me on mine.Thank you!! 🙂 Joe

leave a reply

