Serial sickness sucks

image

Pity party. Table for one.

Serial sickness sucks. Although, I imagine that cereal sickness probably sucks too. In three months, I have been sick five times. One case of influenza, two bouts with the stomach flu, one upper respiratory infection, and now a throat / sinus infection. I’ve been called a hypochondriac, a faker, a flake, a walking-petri-dish, a bummer to be around and a crappy friend (although I am glad to say anyone who says this is not my friend, crappy or otherwise). I’ve been told it’s because I sleep too much. Or I don’t sleep enough. Or I’m imagining it. My favorite has to be “You’re just letting your anxiety make you sick.” Oh wise one,  please tell me how anxiety causes germs, viruses, and/or bacterial infections? Granted much of this free and not-sought-after advice only comes from a select few armchair physicians with a higher degree in bullshit and condescension. By all means, invite me over and I’ll be happy to share my “hypochondria” with you.

However, this time has not been utterly fruitless. I have watched almost everything Netflix can offer on-demand. I have read four novels. I have grown in patience for others. I have developed sympathy for those who are chronically ill. I have learned that I don’t have it so bad. I have learned not to worry. I know that pain and frustration are temporary. Hope is eternal. I have learned Who to trust.

So to all of my friends who have loved me, shown me patience, understood when I’ve had to bail, encouraged me, and prayed for me….thank you and I love you.

And for those naysayers and know-it-alls….pfffftttthhhh, jog on.

  Matthew 6:25-27 NIV
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?    Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?    Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life ?

  Galatians 5:22-23 NIV
“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

  Psalm 27:13 NIV
“I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”

2 thoughts on “Serial sickness sucks

  1. Mom says:

    You really have to stop sticking your thermometers in your cup of tea. Just kidding. Love you. Feel better soon.

leave a reply

