My Daddy Said to Me

Once my daddy said to me
“Treat yourself with kindness please.”
Advice that came too late for me.
And so much wasted time.

If I could meet my younger self
Who’d placed her life on dusty shelf
I’d tell her love is truly there;
Not in the usual place, I fear.
Turn o’er the rocks and plow the dirt
Search this madly spinning earth.
Mine the tunnels dark and deep,
To find the jewels that spark beneath.
I’d wipe away effluent tears
And tell her not to hide from fears
To gird herself with courage now
And add a spice of humor too.

Now I am blessed past wildest measure.
For each friend is the rarest treasure;
Found in most confusing places,
And in those long forgotten spaces.
Once my daddy said to me
“Treat yourself with kindness please.”
Advice that came too late for me.
But I’m done wasting time.

for all of my friends both old and new

4 thoughts on “My Daddy Said to Me

  1. Fairlie says:

    I love you, Fluffernut!

  2. Lorraine Heberling says:

    Love it! Your poems are such a blessing!

  3. Sarah says:

    This is beautiful! Honest, & heartfelt great poem. 🙂

leave a reply

