Country Song (…ok, more like poem)

I’ve got a lighter in each pocket
And a man by my side.
A smoke between my lips
And he always makes me smile.
The sky’s about to open
And I am feeling down.
All I ask is make me laugh;
Play the part of clown.

Give me hell or give me smiles
I don’t give a damn.
Don’t leave me by myself tonight
Cause I don’t have a plan.
I’ve got a lighter in each pocket;
Smoke and tar are in my lungs.
Just please don’t walk away,
Until my song you’ve sung.

Stay with me awhile
Until my mood abates.
I’ve a fickle heart, I warn you,
But please don’t stay away.
Use the lighter from my pocket
And strike me up a smoke.
Distract me from myself tonight
With your little jokes.

Take these lighters from my pocket
And lead the way back home.
This torch is pretty feeble
But I can see the glow.
Give me hell or give me smiles
I don’t give a damn.
Don’t leave me by myself tonight,
Cause I don’t have a plan.

2 thoughts on “Country Song (…ok, more like poem)

  1. BlueGem says:

    I like!!!

leave a reply

