Nightmare

I’m slowly falling to my death
I cannot seem to catch my breath.
There’s no one here alive you see
Except the darkness inside me.

I won’t go down without a fight.
But I cannot see the light.
This nightmare haunts my waking hours
And robs me of my power

To fight back, but I will try.
I’ll wake to rise and I will cry.
Hoping, pleading, begging, praying.
I’m not leaving. I am staying.

Take your shot. I won’t give in
To whispered doubts about my sins.
I have Someone who’s on my side,
And is more gracious than you are sly.

leave a reply

