Ruby Slippers

I needed a reminder last night.  It’s something that I’ve known, but my heart has refused to believe it about myself for quite sometime.  Maybe I’ve never really believed it.  I used to think that God loves me because I am valuable; that I have some hidden innate value so therefore God has to love me.  Some years back my thinking shifted somewhat and I began to realize that I am only valuable because God loves me.  God determines my value and loves me anyway.  He is not forced to love me.  He chooses it; often when I don’t deserve and even when I am running in the opposite direction.

I have not felt very valuable lately.  In fact I have felt quite the opposite. I have felt needy, neglected, ignored, dismissed and often condescended to.  I was reminded by a close friend last night of how God really sees me.  And the beauty of this truth caused the tears to run freely because deep in my heart I like playing emo.  I like being in the dark and throwing myself a pity party.  I was reminded of the verse from Proverbs 31:10 “Who can find a woman of worth, for her price is far above rubies.”  Rubies are expensive.  The median international price for rubies * (rated with a quality of “exceptional”…and why not, God’s not stingy) is $6,150 per carat.  There are approximately 141.7 carats to an ounce.  There are 16 ounces to a lb.  A lb of rubies is about $13,943,280.  Do the math for yourself ladies.  Pound for pound I am worth (in the ruby sense) upwards of $1,742,910,000.  Yowza.

As a shout out to all those occupying Wall Street , standing up against the 1% (I wholeheartedly support your rights),  your value to God already puts you far ahead of the game.  Granted this is a metaphor, but it gives me an idea in a highly economic culture, that my value is FAR above rubies.  It’s time I started believing that.

So put on your ruby slippers and remember you are a daughter of a King.  And if you don’t feel valued, remind yourself that you ARE loved and that your worth is FAR above rubies.  Even God says so 🙂

* http://www.ruby-sapphire.com/r-s-bk-prices.htm

3 thoughts on “Ruby Slippers

  1. theWomanAtTheWell says:

    Do you also think that maybe the Wizzard also knew the true value of the ruby slippers? I think maybe yes. Thank you for being so honest and allowing us to see your humanity, that was adventuresome of you…God bless my friend. -WATW

  2. BlueGem says:

    A resounding amen to you!!! 🙂 I love this post. I can’t believe I didn’t subscribe to you earlier. I have really enjoyed your writing. Timely reminder my friend. The worth of a virtuous woman is far above rubies. Thanks for sharing. ~ Peace, BlueGem

  3. thank you ladies for your encouragement. When I started using wordpress I had no idea how many believers I would “run into” on the internet. I so much appreciate your support and comments! Much love in Christ 🙂

leave a reply

