People Pleaser

Who will I be today
When the sun wakes up to play?
I do not know what you see,
When your gaze rest on me;
Or who you think that I should be,
But I always aim to please.

Oh give me time. give me time. give me time to see
Who I am supposed to be.  And then I will be free.

Am I a prude wrapped in a cardigan sweater,
With a strand of pearls around my neck?
A delicate flower who’s easily ruffled,
Sitting genteelly, hands folded in lap?

Or am I a fire cracker ready to snap,
Wild and free like the northerly wind;
Hard to reign in and harder to stop,
Once I’ve made up my mind?

Am I too manly, to harsh and too stubborn?
Or am I too needy with love suffocating?
In my angst, I will push you away,
And in the same breath, beg you to stay.

Oh give me time. give me time. give me time to see
Who I am supposed to be. And then I will be free.

I do not know what you see
When your gaze rests on me.
Am I just a girl, or am I a woman?
I’ll tell you as soon as I  know.

leave a reply

