Tonight

Looking for the sunshine in the middle of the night.
Streets are grimy damp and cold
Yet still are lined with leaves of gold
That soon will turn to ash and dirt;
And I’ll admit with feelings hurt,
I need a star to wish on in the middle of this night.

I need a place to rest my head in the middle of the night.
Lamplight flickers instead of stars
As I fill lungs with smoke and tar.
I fall asleep with TV on
And hope to wake far after dawn.
I need to find some peace in the middle of the night.

I’ll try to frame my dreams in the middle of tonight.
Streets forever leafed with gold.
Warmer winds that won’t blow cold.
Red and orange, green and blue:
Nature’s humbling glorious hues.
And I will find my rest in the middle of tonight.

leave a reply

