Tarry Awhile

The breeze blows in a cooler air
As summer tumbles out of here.
Added blankets on my bed,
As trees are burning fiery red.
Come back to us, oh don’t forget
That we still need you yet.

The leaves are lit from underneath
By a sun who’s weary with relief
That she can move on from this place.
She will warm another face.
Come back to me, oh don’t forget
That I still need you yet.

But I must wait for her return
As I watch her steely burn
Ignite the clouds with crimson glow.
And I must watch her go.
Tarry awhile, content to play.
I need you still today.

leave a reply

