Surrogate

You say “Come inside my child,
Out of the night so raw and wild.
I’ll feed you with my love and food
And leave you in better mood
Then when you first walked through my door.
And I’ll love you evermore.”
“I’ll share your laughs and your tears
I’m not afraid to share your fears.
The secrets that you tell are kept.
When you have cried, I have wept.
I’ll point you forward on your way
To face much brighter days.”
We watch you with your steadfast faith
When ours seems about to break.
We know that you will help us fight
Through these raw and wild nights.

originally written on Monday, August 29, 2011 at 3:27pm

leave a reply

