Summer

All of this summer fun
Has turned me into a summer bum.
Jumping on trampolines and swimming in lakes.
Sunscreen and goggles and strawberry cakes.
BBQ’s and contests and fights to the death.
It’s going so fast.  I can’t catch my breath.
Iced coffees and night swims in warm moonlit pools.
New movie at midnight?  I’m one of those fools.
Reading my favorites I’ve already read.
The deepest of sleep when I get to my bed.
Weddings and presents and friends filled with joy.
This is my summer!  Who needs a boy?

originally written on Sunday, July 31, 2011 at 1:08am

leave a reply

